Evaluation and Reflection

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?
When I met with my cousin to ask what he wanted he said he wanted it to look ‘pretty’ and he said he liked ‘floral wallpaper’. I think that I have managed to create something which is pretty and floral.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?
I think the strengths are that I managed to create something which is in ‘tune’ with Rowan’s music. His music is quite tranquil and calming and I think I have created a design which reflects that.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.
The client wanted a floral design. I don’t think I would have gone down that route if he hadn’t of requested it. People may misinterpret flowers as meaning romance or it may remind them of a wedding. It may remind them of Laura Ashley. The new generation of young people like these floral designs. For them the floral designs are hip and cool.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?
If I had the programming knowledge I would have loved to add a section where fans can chat to each other or where Rowan can answer their questions. Luckily Rowan has his own Twitter so fans can ask him questions there. I also made a contact page so he can be contacted. I made a Twitter icon on the site which takes viewers directly to his twitter.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

Be very honest with yourself in this section. Please feel free to approach a member of staff for help finding ways to develop skills.

How was my time keeping?
My time keeping was quite good. The site was completely finished a few days before the deadline. A friend has given me hosting for the design for free.

How was my research?
My research was very helpful since I had never made a website for a musician before and I really didn’t know what they should contain. I don’t really look up a lot of music websites. If I want to listen to music I usually just go to YouTube. I have showed how my research has directly influenced my design like in the post about how I organised Rowan’s musical influences.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?
At every stage I made evaluations of what I was doing. I talked about whether my research would actually be applicable to my website or not. I saw a few things that I might have used if I was a programmer and able to do more like the roll overs in Flickr. They were really attractive and functional.

The way Muse’s widgets work also put some restrictions on what I could achieve but it wasn’t a problem. The widgets are great! I would have achieved less without them.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?
The place I used the most experimentation was on the vectors I made. I spent quite a few days experimenting with floral vectors. It isn’t easy to design something like that. Vectors take a long time to make. I tried out different floral wallpapers to see which ones looked the best. I experimented with online filters. I’ve never tried that before.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?
I think I have covered all the learning outcome by completing a lot of research, experimentation, making a lot of ideas and using evaluations on a constant basis.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?
Making the swirl vector for the footer was my biggest achievement out of the vectors I made, as well as the swirl device I placed under each title. I really like the way the musical influences video gallery looks. It looks really colorful yet it has a lot of breathing room. I’m really happy that my design has a lot of breathing room in general. I did this because I was inspired by Baggle Design. I made a post on Baggle.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?
Using Adobe Edge Animate is quite difficult and not particularly intuitive. I need to keep using it so I remember how. Learning to use Adobe Edge Animate was a great achievement for me.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?
The idea of making something my cousin would actually like and put his name to is what inspired me. I didn’t want to let him down so I put a lot of effort into creating what he wanted.

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?
Adobe Edge Animate was definitely difficult because it isn’t very intuitive.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?
Ideally I would like to learn to use all of Adobe’s new software but I don’t know if that will be possible or not. I can use tutorials from YouTube to learn.

Any other points?
I really hope my cousin likes the site so much that he chooses to make it live and uses it as his official website. I would be so happy if he does.

Leave a Reply

