Evaluation and Reflection

Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

I think the way I have put the website together makes it look professional and friendly. The point of the brief was to create a website which looked credible and friendly. The design gives the UAWA a credible identity.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I do not feel that it does fail in any way.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

The current UAWA site looks amateurish and cluttered. The main strengths of my design are the way in which the information has been set out. The type has been set out in a simple and clear way unlike how it was before. Before it was actually difficult to read; the information was lost in-between the fuss.

The other strengths are the pictures I used. After much evaluation I found pictures which represent the adult industry without being overt about it. The website needs to be available to everyone so it must not be blocked by network sensors. I wanted potential members to see the people in the pictures and imagine that they wanted to join and become a member.

I used textures to add interest and to keep the design looking professional. The point of the brief was to create a website that looked more professional and less casual. I created a website which took all the same information as the current site but I presented it in a trendy and professional manner. My website makes the UAWA look modern and credible.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

People may think the photos are too tame. Perhaps some shock statistics about HIV would convince people to join. A page showing photos of the people who are already members may convince more people to join. It is hard to say what the weaknesses would be. I would have to send my design to some people in the adult industry to see if they thought it needed changing or modifying. Apart from that I must rely on the expertise of my tutors.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

The main audience for the website would be adult performers and those who work in the adult entertainment industry.  The photo of the woman posing could be misunderstood since people may think the scene depicts a fashion shoot. The UAWA does not represent fashion models.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

A lot more information could be added to the site. If I worked for the UAWA I would suggest adding information about the different STD’s and how to best protect yourself. Information could be added about how to avoid being exploited.

Reflection of own working practices:

Be very honest with yourself in this section. Please feel free to approach a member of staff for help finding ways to develop skills.

How was my time keeping?

My time keeping was good for this project. I had enough time to get feedback on several different occasions in class. I had enough time to do a lot of research and fully write-up how I made my website.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I think my analysis of the brief was good. The point of the brief was to redesign a current website. So that gave me some guidance as to the best way to proceed. As opposed to having a client who has not already decided which medium they want. The medium was already decided. This was because when I showed everyone (tutors and students) the current uawa.org site, not one single person queried the need for improvements. The main things that needed to be achieved was a design that was uncluttered and that instilled trust in the viewer.

How was my research?

I did a lot of research and I think it went well. I was looking to learn about textures, typefaces and website layouts.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I looked for trends so I could draw inspiration. I also looked to see what is being done now in design to see if I could use any of it in my future designs. Sometimes I saw things I wasn’t expecting like in my post ‘Breaking The Rules: Typography In Web Design‘. I wasn’t expecting to see a site where the main titles are partly hidden. This reminds me that trying something new and different can work in some situations.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I used my research as inspiration. I always pay attention to the backgrounds used on web pages to see if I think the effect looks good or not. Something as simple as the background makes a big difference in my opinion. I always pay attention to layouts and what happens when I click on a button, to see if I like it. I also look at how and where pictures are placed in designs to see if I like the effect. When I see something I like I then try it out as an idea.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

I spoke to the tutor to make sure he thought my texture and photos were appropriate. If he thought they needed improvement I went away and looked for new photos. The design developed using this method.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I experimented by trying to make a light beige coloured texture in this post ‘How I Made The Textures‘ I think I can make this more effective by trying different colours. I don’t know how to make all the types of textures I’d like to use so it would be good to learn this.

I also experimented in Illustrator which can be seen in the post ‘Experimenting In Illustrator – Logo Ideas‘ I think this could be made more effective by sketching out an idea first and then making it into a vector. Just using Illustrator effects doesn’t really work for serious logo design.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I have shown that I have achieved the learning outcomes by making sure I wrote a post every time I received feedback and how I acted on it.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed doing research as looking at websites is something I would choose to do with my time. I was really happy that I got to use Adobe Muse as now I can finally make a website that moves around the way I want it to without worrying about coding.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

Doing this evaluation in not particularly enjoyable because it’s quite time-consuming. Fixing all the problems I encountered in Muse was not enjoyable.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

I worked best in the evening. I think this was the case because I was at home away from any distractions. I need to aim to do some work everyday so I can break the work up into smaller portions.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

The Simple Key website was very inspiring. I can follow this up by looking at more designs from sites like The Best Designs.

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?

Fixing the problems in Muse was frustrating as I didn’t know if what I was doing was right or not but I got there in the end.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

I was thinking of doing some tutorials on YouTube to improve my knowledge of Muse.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

Yes I need to improve my skills in Muse. I don’t think I need to do this right now but definitely at some point.

Any other points?

I would like to carry on with photography as well as web design as I do enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

