Breaking The Rules: Typography In Web Design

Never Under Dressed is an online Luxury Fashion and Beauty Magazine. The main reason I included this site is the typography. I say it breaks the rules because it uses some unexpected typefaces. Not only that, look at the way ‘Wednesday’, ‘Paris’, ‘Beauty’, ‘Shoots’, ‘Fashion’ and ‘People’ are placed. The titles are partly hidden. You don’t see that very often. It quite a busy design but I like the red, white and black colour scheme. It certainly packs a punch.
type site
http://www.neverunderdressed.com/

These two pieces show the interesting typeface.
nice nice2
http://www.neverunderdressed.com/

The same typeface again here.
Big
http://www.neverunderdressed.com/shoots/bespoke/crystallised

I put this image into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
Untitled-2

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
Type1
Type2

Here are the results from myfonts.com
Type3

I put this image into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
Untitled-3

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
Type1 Type2 Type3

Here are the results from myfonts.com
Type

From the results I really like MTT Milano.
Mil Mil 2
http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/mtt/milano/

Menu
Another interesting thing is the way the menu moves when I scroll down. I criticised the Juice Served Here site because I felt its pinned title and menu took up too much of the viewing space. This site doesn’t have this problem. Here is the before:
menu

Here is the after:
menu2
See the title is now on the menu instead of being squashed above it like the Juice Served Here site. This is a better solution in terms of providing the biggest viewing space.

Conclusion
I really like these interesting, customised typefaces. The site seems busy to me but that obviously doesn’t stop it from being popular. I like the way the pinned menu works. I would definitely like to learn how to do that.

One thought on “Breaking The Rules: Typography In Web Design

  1. Pingback: Evaluation and Reflection | Inspired Ideas

Leave a Reply

