Evaluation

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

The main strengths are the photos I’ve used because they are colourful and eye-catching.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

This website won’t appeal to everyone. Some may find it too female orientated.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

Broadly speaking the audience is anyone who may find the site using a search engine. The people who would subscribe could be anyone from teenagers to people in their fifty’s or older. I suppose as I made it I can say females in their thirty’s would return.

The pictures in the  animation on the front page do not contain links so you can’t click on it, you can only look at it. That would probably confuse people as generally you can click on sliding pictures. This was not poor forethought on my part. I wanted to have links in the images but I am not a programmer so I was unable to do this.

What signifies or represents anything to the viewer?

I tried to keep the design minimal so it didn’t look tacky. I tried to use typefaces that were friendly but still modern and trendy. I picked the subjects of the articles because I wanted to show that the magazine is on the pulse of today’s culture. I also wanted to show a luxury lifestyle so I showed pictures of exotic locations. I wanted to inspire people so I showed pictures of Coachella which is in California. I tried to keep the design simple because I wanted people to look at the content.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I could make more pages. I think the travel page could have had a gallery to show off more pictures. The beauty page could have had a make-up tutorial. I could add a ‘Video’ button to the menu and have a page of videos. I think there are many ways in which it could be developed. A page about the history of the (fictional) magazine would be good.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

Be very honest with yourself in this section. Please feel free to approach a member of staff for help finding ways to develop skills.

How was my time keeping?

My time keeping was satisfactory but I think I still need to improve on this.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I wrote my own brief and I thought about everything before I started doing it.

How was my research?

My research was useful as I needed to know what should be included on the page. The only thing research couldn’t help me with was how the designs would look when they were opened up in Chrome. I did a lot of research into typefaces which was useful because I like to use up-to-date trendy type.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I looked at different sites to see what had been included and what had been left out. I made note of what worked and what did not.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

By looking at the different websites I got an idea of the type of thing I wanted and what I didn’t want. I put down on the page all the elements I wanted in a grid.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

Whenever I came up with an idea I asked the tutor for feedback and this shaped the final outcome. An example of this would be at the crit when I showed the tutors and the class my ideas. The tutor said that I should avoid using big paragraphs of text and questioned my use of sentence case for some titles and caps for others. This feedback was helpful and I made the necessary changes.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I made a brush in the shape of an emerald. I tried to use it in the design for the beauty page. It was fun but I didn’t use it in the end because it didn’t look realistic enough.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed putting the pages together when it worked and the elements looked comfortable.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

Making the roll overs in Dreamweaver was the least enjoyable because if you are one pixel out with the slice tool, sometimes you have to start from the beginning which is really annoying.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

Sites like http://palace.co/ really inspire me. This type of site is the reason I want to be a web designer. I want to design like this. I can follow this up by looking at more sites like this. Its helpful and it gives me ideas.

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

Making the animation work was difficult because I put way too many frames in it and my computer didn’t have enough RAM to save it.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

I think I need to practice making web sites and using Dreamweaver so I could get used to it. This is only my second website so I still find it quite difficult.

Leave a Reply

