Liberty London – Trendy typefaces

My mum left this out for me to look at a while back. My first thought was ‘Wow look at that typeface!’ I recently wrote an essay on Art Nouveau so I recognised the name ‘Liberty‘. When I realised it was the same shop I’d learnt about I was really happy.
Scan 1
The Liberty London website tells me ‘In the 1890s Arthur Lasenby Liberty built strong relationships with many leading English designers. Many of these designers were key figures in the Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau movements and Arthur Liberty was instrumental in the development of Art Nouveau through his encouragement of such designers. The store became one of the most prestigious in London.’
http://www.liberty.co.uk/AboutLiberty/article/fcp-content

Scan 2 Scan 3 Scan 4 Scan 5 Scan 6 Scan 7 Scan 8
Scan 9

I will be using http://www.myfonts.com/ and http://www.whatfontis.com/ to identify some of the typefaces used.

Here is the image I put into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
Scan 2 crop 2ND TRY

Here are the results from myfonts.com
SCAN 2 2ND TRY

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
what font is res what font is res3 what font is res2 what font is res4 what font is res5

Here is the image I put into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
Scan 1 crop

Here are the results from myfonts.com
SCAN 1

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
what font is res what font is res2 what font is res3 what font is res4 what font is res5

Here is the image I put into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
Scan 2 crop

Here are the results from myfonts.com
SCAN 2

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
what font is res what font is res2 what font is res3 what font is res4 what font is res5

Conclusion
It has been very useful to look at these typefaces. A few I have seen before:

  • Pluto Sans
  • Pluto Condensed
  • Phi Caps
  • Benton Sans

One new typeface I found that I think will be useful in the future is Litera Serial Light.
Litera Serial
http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/softmaker/litera-serial/light/

I can’t say now exactly which typefaces I will be using for my site but it helps me to look at the different shapes. It triggers memories from different things I’ve looked at. It could be a website, a magazine spread or type on a household product. This helps ideas to form in my mind. This is why looking at typefaces is important to me.

Leave a Reply

