Looking at Trendy Type – Big Rich Atlanta

I’ve been watching a program called ‘Big Rich Atlanta‘ which airs on the Style channel. In the first episode of the first series this type is used on-screen at 21:14. As soon as I saw it I wanted to know which typeface it was.

Here is the image I put into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
big rich atlanta

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
coming soon res
coming soon res2
coming soon res3
coming soon res4

Here are the results from myfonts.com
coming soon res5

I am absolutely in love with Phi Caps but it’s really expensive so I won’t be able to use it for my website unfortunately.
font

The site tells me that ‘Phi Caps is a geometric all caps typeface designed on the basis of the golden ratio. Its simple monoline letters come together in a solid font.’
font1
http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/casvandegoor/phi-caps/

Since I can’t use this particular typeface for my site I will look for some other similar typefaces. Here is another piece of type used in the program. I put it into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
big rich At2

Here are the results from myfonts.com
big rich At My fonts

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
big rich At what font
big rich At what font2

I thought I would do another search to see the different results. Here is the image I put into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
virginia2

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
virginia2 What font

Here are the results from myfonts.com
virginia2 myfonts

I thought I’d try one last search and see what results I would get. Here is the image I got from the program.
kadeja

I put the image into Photoshop to change it to black and white. It was more difficult than usual because the background colour is quite dark. Here are my attempts:
kadeja2
kadeja3
kadeja4
kadeja5

In the end I used HDR Toning which I’ve never heard of before.
hdr toning

It was pure luck but changing Gamma made the image into a cleaner black and white image.
kadeja6

Here is the image I put into whatfontis.com and myfonts.com
kadeja7

Here are the results from whatfontis.com
kadeja8
kadeja9
kadeja10
kadeja11

Here are the results from myfonts.com
results
results2

Conclusion
I’ve found some really nice, trendy typefaces here. Later on, when I’m choosing a typeface for my site, this post will be useful as I will be able to come back and pick one or two. At the moment I like the ones that look most like Phi. I’m also liking Rimouski Light. I’m not sure those two typefaces would look good together mind you. Selly is another possible choice.

Leave a Reply

