The Brief

FINAL MAJOR PROJECT PROPOSAL

Aims

I am going to make a number of web pages. These web pages will be part of a website. The site will be an online magazine.

I have taken this route because I have been inspired by sites such as:

These types of sites provide articles on the following types of subjects:

  • music
  • fashion
  • film
  • art
  • literature
  • lifestyles
  • events
  • social issues and debate
  • food and drink
  • travel
  • beauty and health
  • adverts for products/companies

It will be my job to create the site where these articles sit and present them in an aesthetic manner.

I will not be attempting to create every single page a typical online magazine would have as they can, potentially, have hundreds. I will not be attempting to cover all the subjects above. I will be consulting my tutors on the number of pages they think necessary.

I intend to complete the website by using Photoshop, Dreamweaver and any other software that may be useful.

Specific Individual Outcomes

Who?

The audience would be anyone who browses the sites I have mentioned above. So anyone who is interested in the subjects I have listed.

What?

The content of the site will be taken from the internet in the form of found pictures and articles/adverts that already exist. I will be concentrating on good web design, I will not be writing the articles myself as this is not the point of the project. However, I may create my own content (which may be based on real life or fiction) if I am unable to find what I need from the internet.

The site can be associated/linked to an existing site. By this I mean I have the option of creating a ‘sister site’ for an existing site or it can be a whole new site of its own i.e. a whole new online magazine of my own creation.

I have the option of using any of the following (found or made myself):

  • Any type of image or graphic e.g. photo, illustration, vector, pixel based, painting, brushes etc.
  • Article
  • Video
  • Typography
  • Any other means at my disposal as long as they can be placed on/within a web page

The web pages may also feature links to social media.

At the end of the project I will have a number of HTML files, which I will put onto a CD.

If printed copies are required I will provide these.

What are you hoping to learn?

I want to learn how to create good web design.

I have only made one web design project so far so I expect this project to be challenging and I hope to learn a lot of new skills.

Unique selling point

The pages must be easy to use (if they contain links/menus), clear and simple but also attractive and inspiring.

 What is the message?

I want people to want to explore the content.

Leave a Reply

